Mohill School Crest

School News October 25th 2012

Funding for the Sports Field.
We welcome the €80,000 sanctioned by the DES for the development of a football pitch on the school grounds. We wish to thank all those who made the granting of this money possible.

First Year Boys Football Blitz
Mr. Kehir took the First Years to Ballinamore to play in the Brady Cup Blitz. The group were split into two teams, one of which got beaten in the final. They competed against teams from Manorhamilton, Carrigallen, Ballinamore, Carrick on Shannon and Drumshanbo.
Kevin Bohan, Nathan Hughes, James Quinn, Tadhg Mulligan, Cian Mallon, Brandon Boyne, Ronan Moran, James McNabola, Sean Harkin, Eoin Kenny, Evan Harkin, Jamie McCaffrey, Liam Rowley, Colm McGovern, Robert Maguire, Johnny Boyle, Owen McLoughlin, Jordan McGuinness, Dillon Tyrrell, Fiachra McGuinness, Dylan Gaffey, Cian McKeon, Cian Mulvey, Shane Cox, Jonathan Reynolds, Christy Sullivan, Gavin Gordon, Peter O’Neill, Michael Luby, Tony McDonagh, Jamie Dolan, David Faughnan, Transition Year students David Mulvey and Michael Bohan helped with the teams on the day.

Vietnamese Orphanages.
A number of students have supported this cause by selling wristbands – the money raised is going to support a volunteer worker, who will visit Vietnan in the coming months.

Halloween Soccer.
The annual student v teacher soccer game will take place before mid term in the Sports Hall – while the students are in prime condition the physios and chiropractors are busy trying to patch the teachers together.
The student team will be taken from:-
Emma Quinn, Fiachra McGuinness, Ethan Harkin, Dearbhaile Beirne, Keith Beirne, Nicole Higgins, David Charles, Claire Beirne, Kealan Murphy and Eimear Duffy.
The Teachers team will only be announced five minutes before the match pending fitness tests.

U-14 Girls Football
Mohill played Abbey CS Boyle at home, and were beaten on a scoreline MCC 5-2 Abbey C.S. 8-7
Ms. Horan is in charge of this group.

Aoife Cafferty, Aoife Byrne, Aoife Keegan, Amy Cox, Shannon Kilkenny, Dearbhaile Beirne, Aisling McGwynne, Ellen Keegan, Laura Gill, Leighann Flynn, Claire Bohan, Roisin Donnelly, Emma Moran, Laura McManus, Michelle Hackett, Elizabeth Honeyman, Sibéal Reynolds, Deirbhile Tiernan, Emma Quinn, Tara Quinn, Ann Marie Reynolds, Blathnaid Duignan, Clodagh Mitchell, Seóna Cosgrove, Eimear Kelly.

Senior Girls Football.
Mohill also played Abbey CS at home and had a good win. Mr. Kehir wants to thank Jimmy Stenson who refereed both of the games against Boyle.
Aoife McGarry, Sharon Reynolds, Orlaith Heslin, Catherine Forde, Cliodhna Reynolds, Patricia Forde, Nicole Higgins, Aileen Flynn, Claire Beirne, Lisa Reynolds, Caoimhe McGuinness, Tara Quinn, Nadine Hackett, Shauna McCrann, Lorraine Moran, Caoimhe Canning, Michelle Beirne, Lorraine Reynolds, Vanessa Reynolds, Alicia Kiernan, Lauren McCann, Ellie Gordon, Ciara McGrath.

The school is facilitating a talk for parents on this topic. It is scheduled for Tuesday, November 13th at 8.00 pm. This will be followed the next day by a workshop for all First Year students on the topic. It is hoped to roll out the programme for other year groups at a later date.