Mohill School Crest

School Notes – October 11th, 2012

Floral Pride Award
Congratulations to the Autism class and helpers who were awarded third prize in the competition. The award is a fitting reward for all the hard work they put in resulting in the colourful displays on show all year round.

Geography Field Trip.
Mr. Kehir accompanied the Leaving Cert Geography class to Killukin River, Kilmore, Co. Roscommon. The primary focus was on river erosion and that entailed plenty of measurement and sampling at the site.

“Bin it Workshop”
First Year students attended a workshop facilitated by Wrigleys to track pupils knowledge and raise awareness of how to dispose of used chewing gum. The workshop used role play and activity based learning.

Transition Year
The group had a most enjoyable and busy two and a half day trip to Roscor Youth Village Fermanagh. They had Key Training on Enterprise and setting up a mini company, they also had team building exercises as well as many outdoor pursuits including gorge walking in wet suits followed by orienteering, and a low rope obstacle course.

First Year Boys Football.
In their first match of the year Mohill drew with Ballinamore PPS in a game that produced fifteen goals, the final score was Mohill 8 – 11 to Ballinamore 7 – 14. Mr. Nolan is in charge of this panel.
Tadhy Mulligan, Cian Mallon, Ronan Moran, James McNabola, Sean Harkin, Eoin Kenny, Evan Harkin, Liam Rowley, Oisin Reynolds, Johnny Boyle, Jordan McGuinness, Fiachra McGuinness, Dylan Gaffey, Shane Cox, Christy Sullivan, Nathan Hughes, James Quinn, Cian McKeon, Cian Mulvey, Jonathan Reynolds, Gavin Gordon, Peter O’Neill, Kevin Bohan, Dillon Tyrrell, Colm McGovern, Robert Maguire, Owen McLoughlin, Jamie McCaffrey.

Boys Juvenile Football.
Mohill played Castlerea in an away game and had a good win. Mr. Gaffey is in charge of this team.
Jamie Stenson, Kevin Flynn, Keith Beirne, Jamie Cosgrove, Ronan Gordon, Sean McGuinness, Cal Rawlinson, Jack Heslin, James Doherty, Alan Tuthill, Sean Muldowney, Darren Keegan, Jack McGarry, David Campbell, Brian Duffy, Ronan McKeon, Ronan Mulligan, Ethan Harkin, Michael Reynolds, Eoin Keegan, Dylan Ward, Sean McLoughlin.

We sympathise with Mr. McGuinness on the death of his sister – Mrs. Vera Gallagher. May she rest in peace.