Mohill School Crest

School Notes April 18th 2013

We congratulate Dearbhaile Beirne and Ms. Fitzpatrick on Dearbhaile’s win in the An Post sponsored Impostipuzzle. Dearbhaile won a €100 An Post voucher for herself, a similar voucher for Ms. Fitzpatrick and €500 for the school. All of Ms. Fitzpatrick’s second year Business class entered the competition, which involved a crossword, answering questions regarding information in a DVD outlining services offered by An Post, finally these was personal input/comment by the student.

Big Brother Big Sister.
This mentoring system has been running weekly all year and has come to an end with a trip to the cinema for all involved where the film “Oblivion” was screened. Fifth year students mentored First Year students every Tuesday. The programme was promoted by NYP and overseen by Ms. Hanly.

Transition Years.
Transition Years are in Northern Ireland at the Key Programme for all of this week.

Ceiliúrady Cainte.
Mar chuid de Bhliain na Gaeilge, thógamar páirt i gCeiliúradh Cainte – lá Gaeilge ar Dé Céadaoin an 17ú Aibreán 2013 ar son na carthanachta Headstrong, a dhéanann sláinte intinne daoine óga a chur chun cinn. Thóg níos mó na 240 daltaí páirt sa lá. Bhain na daltaí agus na múinteoirí go léir taitneamh as an lá. Go raibh míle maith agaibh as bhur dtacaíocht.

On the 17th of April 240 students took part in an Irish day to raise money for Headstrong which promotes young people’s mental health. The day was enjoyed by all. Thanks to everyone for their support. Ms. McCarville.

Second Year Boys Football.
Mr. Duffy mentors this group and they played against Manorhamilton in a windy and rainswept Annaduff during the week. Mohill lost out in the end despite scoring 3-3 in the last ten minutes. Thanks to Annaduff GAA Club for the use of their facilities.

Barry Heslin, Conor Gallagher, Noel McLoughlin, Conor Reynolds, David Mitchell, Mikolaj Sempka, Dylan Hackett, Dylan Rogan Partyk Kozak, Ethan Harkin, Mark Reynolds, Ryan Murphy, James Maguire, Shane McGowan, Robert O’Beirne, Kevin Mulligan, Micheal Reynolds, Seamus Sweeney, Oisin Fox, Glen Ward, Kalon Harkin, Arron Wynne, Liam Kelly, Shane Gill, Brian Stokes, Luke Jones.

First Year Boys Football.
First Years bowed out of the Connacht Champonship at semi final level in a game against Castlerea, played in Ballyhaunis. Mohill secured extra time with a last minute goal but lost out by five points in the end. They are still in contention in the Connacht League but must playoff with Ballinamore PPS to progress. Mr. Nolan is in charge of this group.

We sympathise with Jessica Dobson and her family on the death of her uncle, Willie Dobson. May he rest in peace.