Mohill School Crest

School News May 4th 2017


The Leaving Cert graduation Mass is in St Patrick’s church Mohill at 2pm on Monday May 15th.
TY Trip.
The class visited Butler’s chocolate factory and Jump Zone-an indoor trampoline centre. The latter helped them work off some of the goodies from the former.Ms McCarville accompanied the students, as the making of chocolate is relevant to the Social and Scientific course.
SEC Practical Examinations.
Leaving and Junior Cert students have started their practical tests, we wish all our students well in their state exams over the next few weeks.
We have had six Spanish students attend classes at different times this past year. They stay with host families and have integrated well into the fabric of the school. They have enriched us all with their culture and strong work ethic and pleasant attitude to all. Ms Yorke facilitates the programme.
Athletes on the move.
Sibeal Reynolds and Alannah McGuinness participated in the North Connacht Schools competition at Sligo I.T. Sibeal qualified in the senior  !00 and 200m race and the long jump. Alannah also qualified for the Connacht finals with a first in the intermediate 100m. Well done girls.
A number of our students took part in the Leitrim Fleadh last weekend with a number qualifying for the Connacht Fleadh in NUI  Galway in July. Saoirse and Tara Kellegher both qualified in their age group, Saoirse on the flute and tin whistle and Tara in tin whistle. Dervla McManus qualified in the fiddle. Geraldine Reynolds took part in the fiddle and tin whistle competitions, Brian Donohoe took part in the tin whistle competition  also. We congratulate you all.
Student teacher Soccer. 
This has become an annual fixture one which the teachers invariably won but the bookies got it wrong on this occasion, the teachers started well  and were ahead when Mr Nolan got injured. The strong student panel then came to the fore and they won on a 5-3 scoreline.
Students-Emma Hayden, Sean Bohan, Chloe Dolan, Shane Moran,Genevieve Canning, Shane Mallon, Gemma Stenson, Daniel Hamilton, Michelle Hackett,Tadhg Doherty, Emma Moran and Sean Harkin.
Teachers- Ms Flanagan Ms P. McGovern, MrNolan, Mr Beirne, Mr Duffy,Mr Cummins .We wish Mr Nolan a speedy recovery and of course there is always next year.